CHARLOTTE, NC ( – Atlantic Coast Conference head coaches are on the 2024 Dodd Trophy Preseason Watch List, as announced by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Peach Bowl. The ACC was represented on the watch list by six league coaches – more than any other conference.

This year's watch list includes 21 of the best college football coaches in the country, and no conference has more head coaches than the ACC's six.

The six head coaches from the ACC include Jeff Brohm of Louisville, Mario Cristobal of Miami, Dave Doeren of NC State, Mike Norvell of Florida State, Brent Pry of Virginia Tech and Dabo Swinney of Clemson.

Of the 21 coaches on the 2024 candidate list, five are former Dodd Trophy winners, including two from the ACC: Coach Swinney (2011) and Coach Norvell (2023).

The Dodd Trophy, the most coveted national coaching award in college football, is administered by Peach Bowl, Inc. and presented by PNC Bank. It recognizes the head coach of a team that achieves success on the football field while emphasizing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd's coaching philosophy.

The watch list was created through a selection process conducted by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Peach Bowl, Inc., taking into account each program's Academic Progress Rate (APR), Graduation Success Rate (GSR), commitment to community service and philanthropy, and projected success for the 2024 season.

The 2024 ACC football season will feature 17 football programs and will begin with three teams competing in Week 0 on Saturday, August 24, including Florida State vs. Georgia Tech in Ireland as part of the Aer Lingus Classic. College GameDay will also be played in Ireland – its first appearance outside the United States.

ACC Football

  • The ACC is the conference of quarterbacks, with the return of full-time starters Thomas Castellanos of Boston College, Cade Klubnik of Clemson, Haynes King of Georgia Tech, Preston Stone of SMU and Kyron Drones of Virginia Tech, as well as transfers Maalik Murphy of Duke, DJ Uiagalelei of Florida State, Tyler Shough of Louisville, Cam Ward of Miami, Grayson McCall of NC State and Kyle McCord of Syracuse, to name a few.

    • ACC is the top-ranked group of quarterback transfers in 2024, according to CBS Sports.
    • 13 quarterbacks in the league will start the 2024 season with over 20 touchdown passes and 3,500 passing yards.
    • Eight quarterbacks from ACC schools are expected to start in the first week of the 2024 NFL season – that’s 25 percent of NFL teams.
    • Since 2018, the ACC has had at least one quarterback selected in the first round in five different drafts – the only conference to do so.

  • The ACC's non-conference schedule continues to be the most demanding in the country.

    • 27 games against Power 4 opponents, including Notre Dame, the most of any conference.
    • Nine non-conference games against teams ranked in the final 2023 Associated Press Top 25 poll, more than from any other conference.
    • 10 non-conference games against teams in ESPN's 2024 Way-Too-Early Top 25, the most of any conference.

  • As announced by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Peach Bowl, six ACC head coaches were named to the 2024 Dodd Trophy Preseason Watch List, more than from any other conference.
  • Two of the three active coaches to win a national title come from the ACC – Dabo Swinney led Clemson to national titles in 2016 and 2018. North Carolina's Mack Brown won a national title at Texas in 2005.

About the Dodd Trophy presented by PNC Bank:

The Dodd Trophy, presented by PNC, was established in 1976 to honor the head coach of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) whose program embodies the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team that enjoys a successful football season while emphasizing the importance of academic excellence and character, as Coach Dodd's teams did during his 22 years as head coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football's legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. A native of Galax, Virginia, Coach Dodd played college football at the University of Tennessee, where his team posted 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was inducted into the National College Football Hall of Fame as both a coach and a player. For more information about the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *