How to watch Wimbledon in the UK on TV and streaming

The BBC will broadcast the event on BBC One, BBC Two and iPlayer. Clare Balding will once again lead the presenting team, having replaced Sue Barker last year. She is likely to be joined by former Wimbledon champions including John McEnroe, Martina Navratilova, Billie Jean King and Pat Cash.

2021 champion Ash Barty and 2022 finalist Nick Kyrgios are part of the expert team, although the latter's hiring has been criticised. Caroline Nokes, the chair of the women and equalities committee, said the company should “hang its head” for agreeing to the terms after he admitted to assaulting an ex-girlfriend in 2023.

Under British law, Wimbledon is a “Category B” television event. This means that while the men's and women's finals must remain free-to-air, there is no guarantee that the rest of the tournament will not one day be shown on pay TV.

How to watch Wimbledon on TV in the USA

ESPN owns the rights to show over 140 hours of Wimbledon coverage in the United States. In 2021, ESPN signed a 12-year deal to broadcast the event. Coverage begins each day at 6 a.m. Eastern Time.

How much is the prize money at Wimbledon?

In 2024, the total prize money will be £50 million, 11.9 percent more than last year. The men's and women's singles champions will each take home £2.7 million. The first-round singles losers will receive £60,000.

In 2023, the total prize pool was £44.7 million, with the men's and women's singles champions taking home £2.35 million and the runners-up taking home £1.175 million.

Wimbledon pitch and stadium guide

Wimbledon has five show courts: Centre Court, Court No. 1, Court No. 2, Court No. 3, Court 12 and Court 18. Centre is the largest court at the All England Club and features the famous Royal Box. The court capacity at Centre is 14,974, while Court 1 holds 12,345 people.

During the tournament, 12 other grass courts are used. On court 8, the then 18-year-old John McEnroe made his debut in the SW19 in 1977 against the Egyptian Ismail El Shafei.

In 1995, Tim Henman, playing 14th place in a doubles match with Jeremy Bates against American Jeff Tarango and Swede Henrik Holm, became the first player to be disqualified at Wimbledon for hitting the ball in anger, accidentally hitting 16-year-old ball girl Caroline Hall on the head.

British players at Wimbledon

Men's draw

Automatically qualified

Andy Murray – withdrew before the opening game due to injury
Daniel Evans – lost in the first round
Cameron Norrie – lost in the third round
Jack Draper – lost in the second round (against Norrie)


Liam Broady – lost in the first round
Charles Broom – lost in the first round
Jan Choinski – lost in the first round
Jacob Fearnley – lost in the second round (against Djokovic)
Arthur Fery – lost in the first round
Billy Harris – lost in the first round
Paul Jubb – lost in the first round
Henry Searle – lost in the first round

Women's draw

Automatically qualified

Katie Boulter – lost in the second round (against Dart)
Harriet Dart – lost in the third round


Fran Jones – lost in the first round
Lily Miyazaki – lost in the second round
Emma Raducanu – lost in the fourth round
Heather Watson – lost in the first round
Sonay Kartal – lost in the third round

Who is the defending champion?

Last year, Carlos Alcaraz won his first Wimbledon title by defeating Novak Djokovic in five sets.

Marketa Vondrousova won her first Grand Slam title by defeating Ons Jabeur in straight sets. This year, Vondrousova lost in the first round to Jéssica Bouzas Maneiro, who had never won a match on grass before.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *